Forum for Epiphytic Myrmecophytes

This is a young plant of the McIlwraith Range form with a 28mm caudex and yet to develop the typical holes with the raised perimeters

DSCF3088 (copy).JPG.zip

This older plant with a caudex of 70mm at its widest has developed three typical entry holes.

DSCF3089 (copy).JPG.zip

A closer view of the caudex and holes

post-54-0-25924000-1425800754_thumb.jpg

The larger plant has a caudex of 95mm at its widest and has developed only five of the typical entry holes, but on closer inspection many small holes are starting to develop.

Sorry about the mix-up with two of the pictures, I tried to do three together but only the last one came out. This is my first attempt to post pictures.

DSCF3088 (copy).JPG.zip

This plant has a 70mm caudex at its widest and has developed three of the typical holes with the raised perimeters.

Can't seem so get two of the pictures to upload, so will just make a quick comment on Hydnophytum ferrugineum. Speaking to other growers of Australian Hydnophytums and Myrmecodias, this species is fairly straight forward to cultivate but is the slowest growing of the Australian species.

Robert:

Thank you very much for having posted these images and providing some information on your experience growing them. I think that it is fantastic that Australian ant rubiac growers are starting to participate more frequently on this forum.

I have two plants growing in northern California which were sown from seed obtained almost four years exactly to the date. Like others, I have found this species to be very deliberate in its growth and, like other cold sensitive Hydnophytum spp., is extremely prone to shutting down growth and dropping their leaves when conditions are not to their liking.