Forum for Epiphytic Myrmecophytes

Squamellaria major in cultivation

Frank

I have been studying and growing Rubiaceous ant-plants for 20 years now and there have been lots of exciting developments during that time.  Arguably one of the best developments was getting Squamellarias into cultivation!  Wow!   And then that introduction gets followed up with the fabulous work of Dr. Guillaume Chomicki uncovering the complex symbiosis some of the Squamellarias have with Philidris nagasau ants that has the ants "farming" the plants.  The ants "plant" the seeds, protect them and fertilize them (feces in the warted chamber of the seedlings).  The plants, for their part in the symbiosis, delay the development of the fruits for several months after pollination happens so that a special nectary on the top of the ovary can feed the ants of the colony!

If you need to catch-up with this research start with these two articles - available with free download at these two sites:          https://www.researchgate.net/publication/310608117_Obligate_plant_farming_by_a_specialized_ant    and   https://nph.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/nph.13990

Even before these articles I knew I had to grow this species when I saw the habitat photos of this species that Derrick and Andreas posted here on our Forum of what looks like Australian rugby balls hanging in the trees with concentric patterns of holes punched in their surface. (see Derrick's thread titled "Squamellaria major" in this Squamellaria section of this Forum for some of those photos.)

My plant, which I bought as a seedling in July of 2018 from Andreas at the Nepenthes Nursery, is shaped more like a pile of dog droppings than a rugby ball and is covered with an excess of adventitious roots!  I have the large mass of adventitious roots because I am growing the plant in a high humidity orchidarium.  Here is how my plant looks today; it is growing in a 5 inch bulb pan:

DSCN1781.JPGDSCN1783.JPGDSCN1786.JPG